Local London > News > All boroughs

New Chairman for Local London

Councillor Teresa O’Neill OBE was appointed as the new Chairman of Local London at the AGM in June 2022.

Members voted in favour of Teresa O’Neill stepping to the helm at the end of Cllr Rodwell’s tenure of the partnership of 8 London boroughs in the north and east of the capital.

Cllr Teresa O’Neill OBE, Chairman of Local London, said “I would like to thank my colleague, Cllr Rodwell, for his leadership over the past four years which have been particularly difficult for our sub-region, and indeed the whole world. While we face huge challenges, there is also great potential; as Chairman I look forward to championing the needs of our boroughs to ensure that our residents thrive here.  One of the first tasks will be for Local London to focus its new strategy on the changing world we now live in.”

Cllr O’Neill is the Leader of the London Borough of Bexley, as well as Vice Chair of London Councils, Deputy Chair of Local Government Association, and a Board Member of Homes England and the Thames Estuary Growth Board.

Sarah Murray, Director of Local London, welcomed the appointment “I am delighted that Cllr O’Neill has been appointed to head Local London and look forward to working with her to ensure we provide the best support for communities and businesses in our sub-region.”

Local London advocates for the sub-region to ensure it benefits from current and emerging opportunities, and delivers a suite of impactful programmes.

Find out more about Local London’s programmes, partnership and policy work.

View news and resources, by tag:

Further reading

  1. Previous Help shape what we do
  2. Next Census 2021 – what does this mean for Local London?